15 Albums and a Desert Island

This was supposed to be a list, but I find myself needing to explain. As always. And, remark: why would I have LPs with me on a desert island anyway? Or my iPod, which, assuredly, has more than 15 albums.

Most of this is subject to change with my whims, I suppose.

Limit: 15 (because someone made me do that recently and it was really, really tough. So, here we are again with it).

Order: No particular order, unless you count off the top of my head (which is radically dangerous). Except for the first three or so, which are absolutely essential.

  1. Guns N’ Roses, Appetite for Destruction
  2. Pearl Jam, Ten
  3. Jeff Buckley, Grace

The first three albums need a special note. At the times I ran first ran across these albums–1987, 1991, and 1996, respectively– (and, really, Shine–1989– belongs here too) grabbed me by the throat. THIS is what music is and does. I still listen to them all the time.

The other twelve:

  1. Duff McKagan, Beautiful Disease
  2. Loaded, Dark Days
  3. Rolling Stones, Let it Bleed
  4. Mother Love Bone, Stardog Champion (because I can’t choose between Shine & Apple. I need both)
  5. Betty Blowtorch, Last Call (because I can’t choose, and this has most of what I’d want)
  6. Flogging Molly, Drunken Lullabies
  7. Victor Wooten, Soul Circus
  8. Ten Minute Warning
  9. Dead Kennedys, Give me Convenience or Give me Death (I have a compilation problem, don’t I?)
  10. RHCP, Blood Sugar Sex Magick
  11. Velvet Revolver, Libertad
  12. TOFOG, Gaslight
Leave a Reply

