Dreams, redux

Melissa Etheridge is pissed and folks are assuming that she won’t pay taxes now (not exactly what she said). What she said is:

Okay. So Prop 8 passed. Alright, I get it. 51% of you think that I am a second class citizen. Alright then. So my wife, uh I mean, roommate? Girlfriend? Special lady friend? You are gonna have to help me here because I am not sure what to call her now. Anyways, she and I are not allowed the same right under the state constitution as any other citizen. Okay, so I am taking that to mean I do not have to pay my state taxes because I am not a full citizen. I mean that would just be wrong, to make someone pay taxes and not give them the same rights, sounds sort of like that taxation without representation thing from the history books.

And she goes on to imagine not paying them, sort of. It’s a rant; what she will do is up to her and, good grief, focusing on the taxes part rather misses the point of the rant: civil rights and equal treatment.

Go, Melissa. You are at your best when you are angry, woman. Get ’em.

For the rest of you, particularly if you haven’t considered the realities of the “yes” vote in CA to Proposition 8, please take a few minutes to read Ding’s take on the matter.

Now, I don’t live in Cali and haven’t for, oh, 31.5 years or so, but it is where I was born, and I am rather fond of it. Breathing my first breaths in California, my mother has occasionally told people, is the primary reason behind my liberal notions. She can’t begin to imagine where else such ideas would have come from. *shaking head*

So, I tend to pay a good bit of attention to California politics (and Virginia as well, since I spent my formative years there–proud of the Old Dominion right now). As happy as I am about the outcome of the national election, I am troubled by this Proposition’s outcome, for many of the same reasons Ding cites, and the following one in particular:

IF SOCIETY WORKS ONE WAY FOR ONE PARTICULAR GROUP OF PEOPLE, TO THEIR BENEFIT, THEN IT BETTER WORK THE EXACT SAME WAY FOR EVERYONE ELSE.

I couldn’t possibly say it any better than this.

Also, the ease with which amendments can be made to state constitutions (and the frequency with which they show up–we had some real oddities regarding tax law even here)…yikes.

So, go read, my friends.

Leave a Reply

